School NewsMay 15, 2020

updated Feb 7, 2022

Community Action Fund Provides Relief

As COVID shut down travel during the spring of 2020, many of our students struggled to find ways home. Two classmates acted quickly to support them and help MHS community members in need.

The Community Action Fund

As Miss Hall’s responded to the COVID-19 pandemic, two of the fastest to act were Cailyn Tetteh ’22 and Truc Hoang ’22, who proposed a relief fund to help friends struggling to adjust travel plans as the virus spread across the U.S. They articulated a vision of contributing boldly and creatively to the common good by banding together — individual student contributions and class gifts, plus support from MHS alumnae, family, and friends — to make a direct impact on the lives of students.

Paula Lima Jones

Following the lead of our amazing students, we established the Community Action Fund, adjacent to the Annual Fund for MHS, to address needs that arose within our family, faculty, and staff community during an unprecedented time.

The Community Action Fund enabled students to travel safely home, supplied technology for distance learning, and provided access to basics such as groceries, rent, and household items to MHS families in need.

The fund also supported professional development for faculty as they reimagined their teaching for distance learning. It provided funds to help with unanticipated financial hardship caused by COVID-19, and it offered relief for those most vulnerable in our broader Berkshires community, as part of the MHS commitment to the common good.

$86,706.03 total raised

As of June 30, 2021, 83 grants were distributed to our community.

Community Action Fund donors

Ellen L. Abbott
Robert J. Aldrich
Anonymous - In Honor of the Class of 2021
Mary K. Atwood
Nancy E. Ault
James Barnes
Sabine Bartlett
Rev. Timothy Berg
Bicknell Fund
Tom Boino
Kimberly B. Boland
NancyLou Borges
Janet Boyer
Anne A. Brainard
Amber Braman
Matthew Braman
James & Susan Briggs - Fairbanks Family Charitable Foundation
Elizabeth Burbank
Brendan Burke
Lee K. Carbonelli
Carleen A. Carmel
Calvin Chen & Ping Shu
Sheila H. Childs
Susan Chollet
Jodi Cilli
Marianne Clark
Lori Thaler-Cohen and Rob Cohen
Mary Sue Colaizzi
Merritt Colaizzi
Lexi Conine
Diana L. Conway
Rebecca Cook-Dubin
Sabrina Correia
Aurelie Cressin
Jeffrey Crosier
Donna Daigle
Susan E. Danish
Okichie M. Davis
Susan L. Dick
Daphne E. Dickson
Hope Dillard
Hong Dinh & Lam Hoang
Jennifer L. Ely
Mary Rawson Foreman-Rorrer
Edward & Lorraine Forfa
Barbara Fox
Caroline Frazer
Crystel Frusciente
Wendy Goodwin
Comfort Gordinier
Matthew J. Grallert
LeVaun Graulty
Alexa R. Green
Carolyn Green
Rebecca A. Hajjar
Bruce Harley & Mieke Kohl
Laura H. Harris
Courtney Hatch Blauvelt
Joselyn Hearring
George & Carla Heaton
Julia N. Heaton
Christie Higuera & Ricky Kovacs
Christopher Himes
Howard & Katharyn Hoke
Jennifer R. Hudson
Meredith S. Hulse
Rachel Jingst
Beryl Jolly
Jane S. Joukowsky
Tanya Kalischer
Diana & C.A. Kalman
Jennifer D. Kerwood
Charlotte R. Ketchum
Cheryl Killeen
Kimberly C. Kinne
Olivia Kinne
Stacy Kirk
Gale Kirkwood
Amanda Klay
Ellen B. Kritzman
Elizabeth Kruidenier
Julie Krzanik
Liz Kulze
Christopher LaBlanc
Victoria L. Larson
Adrienne E. Lazes
Paula Lima Jones
Gail E. Lintern
Abigail Linton
Craig & Julie Lombardi
Marissa L. Lowe
Karen Lrhazi
Jim Lyman
Wendy C. Mackey
Ingrid H. Maclean
Ryan Malumphy
Jacqueline B. Mars
Gabrielle D. Matus
MHS Garment and Textile Design Class
Roger and Natalie Matus - Combined Jewish Philanthropies of Greater Boston, Inc
Fay McGeary
Nina K. Merrill
Tsega Meshesha
Richard & Kristy Methe
Edilizon Monteiro
Quanishia Mosley
Lois Moulton
Josephine Nicholson
Michael Norton
Beth O'Connor
Susan P. O'Day
Rochelle M. O'Gorman
Kris Pavek
Matt Pocock
Jonathan and Amy Poorvu
Emerald Power
Emily Pulfer-Terino
Bill & Carol Puz
Christiane Puz
Dongsheng Qin & Yuemin Liang
Clara Read
Erica A. Richardson
Emma Rivera
Darcey E. Robinson
Paula Rodstrom
Allison Romeo
Savanah Romeo
Marian Rutledge
Robert Sanzone
Julie Schutzman
Richard Scullin
Kyle Smith
David Smith
Shelia Carey Smith
Erica L. Solari
Darcie Sosa
Stacey K. Sotirhos
Lauren L. Stair
Holly P. Stover
Sarah R. Straley
Sallie B. Stutz
Leah C. Sullivan
Christopher Tawes
Helen Telfer
Robin & Michael Tesoro
Patricia L. Thatcher
Hannah Van Sickle
Brett Veazie
Lisa & Doug Vierthaler
Sarah P. Virden
Maressa L. Waber
Ellen Webster - Schwab Charitable Fund
Lynelle I. Weaver
Marcia Whitney - Charles R. Whitney Foundation
Virginia E. Wickwire
Suzanne Wilson
Robin E. Woods
Xin Yuan
Yiyan Zhou
Chris Ziegler
Katharine Zins